Who We Are

The Rural Champaign County Special Education Cooperative (RCCSEC) is a service organization whose primary functions are to plan, advise, recommend and provide special education services for the children (ages 3-21) who have special needs in our member districts and to assist district personnel with all such programs and services.

Secondary functions include participation in the professional development, dissemination of information to parents and communities and cooperation with other service agencies. The Administration and staff of RCCSEC are dedicated to the proposition that every child may learn.


RCCSEC serves ten school districts within Champaign County encompassing approximately 5,500 students. Champaign County offers residents a mixture of collegiate, residential, business, agricultural, industrial, athletic, social, cultural and intellectual pursuits.

Located in East Central Illinois, Champaign County is 130 miles south of Chicago, 180 miles from St. Louis, and 120 miles west of Indianapolis

Seated in the heart of Champaign County is The University of Illinois. Within close driving distance are Illinois State University (Bloomington-Normal) and Eastern Illinois University (Charleston).

We invite you to explore our website, visit our offices and programs and get to know us better. We are proud of our Cooperative and the services we provide to children.